# Joint statement calling for sanctioning of Chinese and Hong Kong officials and protection for Hong Kongers at risk of political persecution

We, the undersigned, call upon the Government of Canada to take action in light of the mass arrests and assault on civil rights following the unilateral imposition of the new National Security Law in Hong Kong. Many in Hong Kong fear they will face the same fate as the student protestors in Tiananmen Square, defenders' lawyers, and millions of interned Uyghurs, Tibetans, and faith groups whose rights of free expression and worship are denied.

We urge the Government of Canada to offer a "Safe Harbour Program" with an expedited process to grant protection and permanent residency status to Hong Kongers at risk of political persecution under the National Security Law, including international students and expatriate workers who have been involved in protest actions in Canada.

Furthermore, Canada must invoke the Sergei Magnitsky Law to sanction Chinese and Hong Kong officials who instituted the National Security Law, as well as other acts violating human rights; and to ban them and their immediate family members from Canada and freeze their Canadian assets.

Canada needs to work closely with international allies with shared values to institute a strong policy toward China. It is time for Canada to take meaningful action to show leadership on the world stage.

### Signatories:

### Civil society organizations

Action Free Hong Kong Montreal

Canada-Hong Kong Link

Canada Tibet Committee

Canadian Centre for Victims of Torture

Canadian Friends of Hong Kong

Canadian Journalists for Free Expression

Democracy & Human Rights for China

Democratic Party of China, Canada Committee

East Turkistan Association of Canada

Falun Gong Human Rights Group

FAPA Canada

Federation for a Democratic China

Friends of Canada India Organization

Friends of Hong Kong Calgary

Friends of Hong Kong Edmonton

Global Pinoy Diaspora Canada

Gurukul Cultural Society

Halifax Hong Kong Link

McMaster Stands with HK

Movement for Democracy in China (Calgary)

Mustard Seeds Hong Kong Concern Group

One Free World International

Ontario Universities Hong Kong Awareness Group

Ottawan Stand With Hong Kong

Ottawa Post-Secondary Institutions' Hong Kong Awareness Group

PEN Canada

Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights

Regional Tibetan Youth Congress Toronto

Saskatchewan Stands with Hong Kong

SFU HK Awareness & Action Group

Southern Mongolian Human Rights Information Center

Students for a Free Tibet

Taiwanese Canadian Association of Toronto

Taiwanese Human Rights Association of Canada

Toronto Association for Democracy in China

Torontonian HongKongers Action Group

University of Calgary Hong Kong Concern

University of Manitoba Hong Kong Concern

University of Toronto Hong Kong Extradition Law Awareness Group

**Uyghur Refugee Relief Fund** 

**Uyghur Rights Advocacy Project** 

Vancouver Hong Kong Political Activists

Vancouverites Concerned About Hong Kong

Vancouverites Stand with Righteousness

Vancouver Society in Support of Democratic Movement

Vancouver Society of Freedom

Vancouver Uyghur Association

Victoria BC Hong Konger

Viet Tan

Waterloo Lion Rock Spirit

Winnipeg Hong Kong Concern

World United Formosans for Independence Canada Chapter York University Hong Kong Politics Awareness Group

## Individual community leaders

Charles Burton, Senior Fellow, Macdonald-Laurier Institute

Marcus Kolga, President of the Central and Eastern European Council in Canada

Amita Kuttner, Former Green Party Leadership Candidate

Neema Manral, MPP candidate of Delta North, B.C.

Joe Tay, Hong Kong actor and singer in exile

Rukiye Turdush, independent researcher and human rights activist

### Parliamentarians and Politicians

Ziad Aboultaif, Member of Parliament

Scott Aitchison, Member of Parliament

Hon. Denise Batters, Q.C., Senator

Kelly Block, Member of Parliament

Alexandre Boulerice, Member of Parliament

John Brassard, Member of Parliament

Colin Carrie, Member of Parliament

Kenny Chiu, Member of Parliament

Laurel Collins, Member of Parliament

Hon. Consiglio Di Nino, Former Senator

Kerry Diotte, Member of Parliament

Scott Duvall, Member of Parliament

Dave Epp, Member of Parliament

Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Member of Parliament

Hon. Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Member of Parliament

Hon. Linda Frum, Senator

Hon. Dr. Hedy Fry, Member of Parliament

Randall Garrison, Member of Parliament

Leah Gazan, Member of Parliament

Hon. Stephen Greene, Senator

Jack Harris, Member of Parliament

Jasraj Singh Hallan, Member of Parliament

Hon. Leo Housakos, Senator

Carol Hughes, Member of Parliament

Hon. Peter Kent. Member of Parliament

Tom Kmiec, Member of Parliament

Michael Kram, Member of Parliament

Damien C. Kurek, Member of Parliament

Jenny Kwan, Member of Parliament

Hon. Frances Lankin, Senator

Philip Lawrence, Member of Parliament

Hon. Michael L. MacDonald, Senator

Paul Manly, Member of Parliament

Hon. Elizabeth Marshall, Senator

Lindsay Mathyssen, Member of Parliament

Elizabeth May, Member of Parliament

Kelly McCauley, Member of Parliament

Phil McColeman, Member of Parliament

Hon. Marilou McPhedran, Senator

Hon. John McKay, Member of Parliament

Heather McPherson, Member of Parliament

Hon. Percy Mockler, Senator

Hon. Jim Munson, Senator

Hon. Thanh Hai Ngo, Senator

Hon. Dennis Patterson, Senator

Jeremy Patzer, Member of Parliament

Hon. Donald Plett, Senator

Yasmin Ratansi, Member of Parliament

Brad Redekopp, Member of Parliament

Hon. David Richards, Senator

Hon. Judy Sgro, Member of Parliament

Nelly Shin, Member of Parliament

Derek Sloan, Member of Parliament

Warren Steinley, Member of Parliament

David Sweet, Member of Parliament

Corey Tochor, Member of Parliament

Cathay Wagantall, Member of Parliament

Kevin Waugh, Member of Parliament